Webb and Geach Explored-Wheal Venton

There has been a bit of a pause in these posts whilst I have been tying up some loose ends with some work across on my other blog- NAVREGS.  I have just published a new book in my Really Handy text book range, and have been beavering away on some posts on ship certification. But now there is a chance to resume the series on Liskeard mines.  This is another small mine in the Meneheniot area, and this one is on page 99 of Webb and Geach.

“This, as well as Butterdon Mine is situated in the killas lead bearing district. There is only one lead lode discovered here. A 50-inch engine was erected, and some tons of silver-lead returned from a shallow level (the 40), but after some years’ trial the mine was suspended. ..” Webb and Geach

 

Ordnance Survey

Cornwall XXXVI.NE (includes: Menheniot; Quethiock; St Ive.) Surveyed: 1882 Published: 1888

venlandos1888
Produced with the permission of the National Library of Scotland

Click  here for the map on the Library’s excellent website>

Ordnance Survey 2016

ventonos2016

To view the current map on the OS website click here>

Google Mapsventongoogle2016

Click here to explore the map

 

 

 

 

Cornwall Council

cornwall-venton

PRN (CORNWALL) : 42636
SITE NAME : WHEAL VENTON
SITE TYPE : MINE
FORM : EXTANT
EPOCH : Post-Medieval
PERIOD : 19

Click here for interactive map>

Brenton Symons’ 1863 Map

Click here for more information about this map>

venton

This map clearly shows the mine in a different position than on the Cornwall interactive map. That map places Wheal Venton on the line of Butterdon mine’s adit air shafts.


 

For Webb and Geach and other John Manley’s books-click here>

wpid-wp-1438632680446.png

 

 

Advertisements

Webb and Geach Explored-Butterdon Mine

This is last of the mines described on page 99 of Trevithick Society’s reprint of Webb and Geach’s book ‘The history and progress of mining in the Liskeard and Caradon District’ ,  and the first in this series of posts in the Menheniot mining district.

“…….It is considered that these lodes received but a slender trial at the last working, and that if a lease could be procured on equitable terms, a profitable mine might be found.” Webb and Geach

Ordnance Survey

Cornwall XXXVI.NE (includes: Menheniot; Quethiock; St Ive.) Surveyed: 1882 Published: 1888

ButterdonOS1882
Produced with the permission of the National Library of Scotland

Click  here for the map on the Library’s excellent website>

Ordnance Survey 2016

ButterdonOS2016

To see the current map on the OS site click here>

 

Google Maps

ButterdonGoogle2016

Click here to explore the map>

Cornwall Council

Click for interactive map>

ButterdonCornwall

Reference : MCO11907

Name : BUTTERDON – Post Medieval mine
Monument type : MINE
Period : Post Medieval
Form : EXTANT STRUCTURE
Summary : Butterdon lead mine.

 

 

 

Click for Heritage gateway>


 


wp-1453408124105.jpeg

For Webb and Geach and other John Manley’s books-click here>

wpid-wp-1441052784407.png

Webb and Geach explored-Wheal St. Cleer

Page 99 of Trevithick Society’s reprint of Webb and Geach’s book ‘The history and progress of mining in the Liskeard and Caradon District’ ,  is the starting point for this post, a virtual exploration of  Wheal St. Cleer.; an unsuccessful mine near Commommoor, on Bodmin Moor. 

“The former lode was worked for a long time since and an engine erected; it had received however, a very inadequate trial at the time of its suspension. With an outlay sufficient to carry the mine to a proper depth, probably a good result would follow, as there is no lode in the district that is better defined at the surface” Webb and Geach

 

Ordnance Survey

Cornwall XXVIII.SW  Surveyed: 1881 to 1882 Published: 1886

 

WhealStCleerOS1886
Produced with the permission of the National Library of Scotland

Click here for the Map on Library of Scotland website>

Current OS map

WhealStCleerOS2016To see the current OS map click here>

 

 

 

 

Google Maps

WhealStCleerGoogle2016Click here to explore the map>

 

Cornwall Council

Cornwall Council interactive map

Reference : MCO13138WhealStCleerCAUMap
Name : WHEAL ST CLEER – Post Medieval mine
Monument type : MINE
Period : Post Medieval
Form : DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE
Summary : The remains of a shaft and spoilheap are visible on air photos

 

Click here for Heritage gateway entry


wpid-wp-1441052784407.pngwp-1453408124105.jpeg

 

For Webb and Geach and other John Manley’s books-click here>

Webb and Geach Explored-Caradon Copper Mine

CaradonCopperPan
Caradon Copper Mine seen from the footpath in 2005

Page 99 of Trevithick Society’s reprint of Webb and Geach’s book ‘The history and progress of mining in the Liskeard and Caradon District’ ,  provides the starting point for this post, a virtual exploration of the Caradon Copper Mine.

Caradon Copper Mine

“To work these an engine was erected with all necessary buildings; but though the shaft was sunk to a good depth; and the mine worked for some years, a corresponding success was not met with, and they eventually sold the machinery and abandoned the concern.” Webb and Geach

Ordnance Survey Cornwall XXVIII.SW Surveyed: 1881 to 1882 Published: 1886

CaradonCopper1882
Produced with the permission of the National Library of Scotland

Click here for the Map on Library of Scotland website>

Current OS map

CaradonCopperOS2016To see the location on a current OS map click here>

 

 

 

Google Maps

CaradonCopperGoogle2016Click here to explore the map>

 

 

 

 

Google Street View

Cornwall Council

Cornwall Council interactive map>

CaradonCopperCornwallReference : MCO11918
Name : CARADON – Post Medieval mine
Monument type : MINE
Period : Post Medieval
Form : EXTANT STRUCTURE
Summary : Caradon copper mine commenced work in 1844, was renamed Trethevy Copper Mine in 1849 and was disused by 1863


wpid-wp-1441052784407.pngFor Webb and Geach and other John Manley’s books-click here>

 

WEBB & GEACH EXPLORED-Liskeard Consols

This virtual journey of exploration based on Webb and Geach’s book ‘The history and progress of mining in the Liskeard and Caradon District’ ,  continues with another of the small mines described in the Trevithick Society’s reprint of the Victorian publication. This post covers the first of the mines described on page 99. 

Liskeard Consols

“…a mine situate a little south of the patch of greenstone forming St. Cleer Downs, was worked a few years since by a Liskeard Company, but after an incomplete trial it was abandoned.” Webb and Geach

Cornwall XXXVI.NW (includes: Liskeard Borough; Menheniot; St Cleer.) Surveyed: 1881 to 1882, Published: 1887

LiskeardConsols OS 1887
Reproduced with the permission of the National Library of Scotland

Click here for the Map on Library of Scotland website>

Current OS map

LiskeardConsols OS 2016

To see the location on a current OS map click here>

 

 

 

Google Maps

Click here to explore the map>

LiskeardConsolsGoogle2016

Google Street view

Cornwall Council

Cornwall Council interactive map>

LiskeardConsolsCornwallReference : MCO56307
Name : LISKEARD CONSOLS – C19 mine
Monument type : BLACKSMITHS WORKSHOP, MINE, MINERS CHANGING HOUSE?
Period : Post Medieval
Form : DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE, EARTHWORK, EXTANT BUILDING
Summary : Liskeard Consols was worked between 1841 and 1844. All that remains of the site is a depression at the location of a shaft, and a cottage that is likely to have been either the smith’s shop or possibly the ‘dry’ or changing house for the mine.

Click here for the Heritage Gateway entry>


wpid-wp-1441052784407.png

For Webb and Geach and other John Manley’s books-click here>

 

Webb & Geach Explored-Wheal Venland

This virtual journey of exploration based on Webb and Geach’s book ‘The history and progress of mining in the Liskeard and Caradon District’ ,  continues with another of the small mines described on page 98 of the Trevithick Society’s reprint of the Victorian publication.

 

Wheal Venland

” …..Up went the shares, which were sold for fabulous amount, as also were the unfortunate purchasers, who soon found that the ore was cut out without leaving a trace of its existence.” Webb & Geach

Ordnance Survey Cornwall XXVIII.SW (includes: St Cleer.)
Surveyed: 1881 to 1882 Published: 1886

Wheal Venland Os 1886
Reproduced with the permission of the National Library of Scotland

Click here for the Map on Library of Scotland website>

Current OS map

Venland OS 2016To see the location  current OS Maps Click here>

 

 

 

 

Google maps

Click here to explore the map>

 

Venland Google 2016

Google Street View

Cornwall Council

Cornwall Council interactive map

Reference : MCO38682
Name : WHEAL VENLAND – Post Medieval mine
Monument type : MINEVenland Cornwall Map Cau
Period : Post Medieval
Form : EXTANT STRUCTURE

X COORD : 225450
Y COORD : 68100

Click here for Heritage Gateway entry>


wpid-wp-1441052784407.pngFor Webb and Geach and other John Manley’s books-click here>

 

Webb and Geach explored-St. Cleer Consols

Now that the two talks on William West and John Taylor have been and gone, this blog will go exploring. Using Webb and Geach’s book ‘The history and progress of mining in the Liskeard and Caradon District’ as a base it will wander around the internet looking for clues for lost Cornish mines. This is the first of the series, so it is a bit of an experiment in layout and sources, please enjoy exploring the Cornish mines, wherever you are.

I have resisted the temptation to start at the obvious, the well known successful mines, and instead gone for the most obscure. Hidden away in page 98 of the Trevithick Society’s reprint of the Victorian publication  is some short descriptions of the small, failed attempts at mining in the district. Under the heading of ‘Miscellaneous’, these four pages refer to some of the most interesting mines in the area.

” Some mines of very great promises were abandoned through want of further outlay, which the then shareholders were unwilling to expend. In others the adventurers, not finding courses of ore at a comparatively shallow depth became disheartened” Webb and Geach


Saint Cleer Consols

“…..a short cross-cut adit appears to have been driven on a lode of no great promise.” Webb and Geach page 98

Ordnance Survey Cornwall XXVIII.SW (includes: St Cleer.)
Surveyed: 1881 to 1882 Published: 1886

St Cleer Consols OS
Reproduced with the permission of the National Library of Scotland

One possible shaft is shown close west of the lane.

Click here for the Map on Library of Scotland website>

Current OS map

St Cleer Consols 2016To see the location  current OS Maps Click here>

 

 

Google maps

Click here to explore the map>

St CleerGoogle2016

Google Street View

TrecombeChapel-Googleearth2016

Image capture May 2009 CO 2016 Google earth

Cornwall Council

Cornwall Council interactive map

St Cleer Consols Cornwall Council 2016

PRN (CORNWALL) : 14071
SITE NAME : ST CLEER CONSOLS
SITE TYPE : MINE
FORM : EXTANT
EPOCH : Post-Medieval
PERIOD : 19
MRO INDEX : 1
SOURCE : CC-A11
X COORD : 225500
Y COORD : 68950

 

British Geological Survey

Geological Map>

St Cleer Geology 338

Open Government Licence, Contains British Geological Survey materials © NERC 2016


More mines to come over the next few months, so if you have enjoyed this armchair exploring follow this blog.